Victor Anderson Interview

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

This week’s interviewee is a broadcaster by the name of Victor Anderson. Victor is the current play by play voice of Rollins College and can be followed on twitter @RedAndersonPBP.

 

How long have you been in broadcasting?

I’ve been broadcasting on-air since I was 18 years old. I started at the University of Central Florida my freshman year working volleyball and hosting my own radio show. After I was suspended for a year, I came back and worked mainly with softball for three years before I graduated in 2007. 
 
After taking time off to get settled in, I went to broadcasting school so I can sharpen up my skills. Rollins College in Winter Park called me late in 2010 to do some broadcasting for their basketball team. Next thing you know, I’m broadcasting softball and volleyball. It’s been a fun ride for me and it’s just getting started. 
 
When did you know that it was what you wanted to do?
It started really young for me. My family said I “read” the sports page when I was three at my grandmother’s house. It kinda really began when I would read out the scores when I got a little older. I would always do the sports reports when I was in school growing up. It wasn’t until I was done playing high school football and didn’t get offered a scholarship when I realized this was my calling. 
 
How much time do you spend preparing for a broadcast?
I usually apply a 2:1 ratio for my broadcasts. For every one hour I work on Rollins, I spend two hours getting information on my opponent. Since I already have so much information and data on the team I work for, I feel it’s important to have as much knowledge of your opponent as possible. It’s especially vital when they don’t bring a radio crew and you’re the only voice they hear. They (the opposing team) will respect you a lot more if you know them just as well as you know your home town team. 
 
What sports do you currently broadcast?
Right now, I am currently the color commentator for Rollins College Women’s Basketball. I’m set to start my third season as the play-by-play voice of Rollins softball beginning on February 20th. I’m also play-by-play for their volleyball team as well. 
 
Who are/were the people you look/looked up to in broadcasting?
Being an African-American, I look up to guys like Stuart Scott, Greg Gumble, and Gus Johnson in terms of their passion and love for the sport and profession. 

Is there anyone you emulate, and if so in what way?
In terms of play-by-play, I try to take elements of Vin Scully, Red Barber, and Gus Johnson along with my personality to create my own unique, yet presentable style. Vin is the standard when it comes to presenting and developing a story. He makes each game it’s own novel. Red Barber is someone who talked to you as a friend while still giving you the story of what was going on. I acutally call my spot overlooking the field at our softball complex “The Catbird Seat” like Barber did while he broadcasted games for the Dodgers. Gus Johnson brings an excitement and genuineness to the sport that I respect. When I’m not broadcasting myself, I look forward to him calling games because of his energy and passion.

What is your favorite on air story you can share with us?
It was 2005 and I was a student broadcaster at the University of Central Florida (UCF). I was a part of their broadcasting team for softball that season. We were playing in our conference semifinals against Florida Atlantic. Keep in mind beforehand, the two games we won during the tournament, I did PBP and my good friend Matt was the commentator. Before the game started, I was thinking that Matt would take over PBP and I would switch into my commentating role. Right before we went on the air, he looked at me and said “You took us this far, why not get us to the championship”. It’s kinda like baseball players or teams when they start winning, they keep doing the same thing. In our case, the two games we won in the conference tournament, I was PBP and he thought if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.
We’re tied at 2 in the bottom of the ninth. The bases were loaded and we’re batting. My friend actually begged on air for the player Brittani Lindheim to get a base-hit. Sure enough, first pitch, she hits a hard liner into left field that drops in and we win 3-2. After I say what happened, he hugs me and says on-air “Thank You Victor!!” I was buzzing for about three minutes realizing we knocked out our biggest rival on their home field. To make a long story short, we won two more games the next day and won the conference title. What a day that was!!

If there is anything else or any stories you really want to share please feel free to do so.
One of my favorite broadcasts I’ve done happened last May in Valdosta, GA. We were playing the University of Alabama-Huntsville in an elimination game during the South Regional tournament. That was game that had almost EVERYTHING. I got to call a triple play (1st in school history), a record-breaking home run, a game-saving catch at the wall, and a Rollins College victory. However, the craziest moment happened during the second inning. One of our players laid down a bunt down the third base line and their third baseman went on her knees to try to blow the ball in foul ground. I didn’t make that up, she tried to blow the ball foul. All of us in the press box were cracking up about what we just saw. I should have realized at that time the play we just saw was a sign of what was to come.

In closing, I want to say how blessed I’ve been to be a part of this great profession. Some young broadcasters think that they are God’s gift to the profression and have an attitude that reflect that (that young freshman from Seton Hall I’ve read about on STAA comes to mind). We all have to understand how grateful we need to be to have this platform.

Leave a Reply

